For The Girl Who Struggles With Surrendering

I admit it. I have a hard time surrendering to Jesus. I don’t want to give Him my media intake or my doubtful thoughts of His plan for me. But, why is this? He deserves it all because He laid down His life to save me and He created me to have a full relationship with Him! So, why can I not seem to give Him my everything? I think it is out of fear and pride. Fear of being that very naive and non-relatable Christian. Fear of people seeing me as judgmental or legalistic. The pride that I know better than God (I know, I know). The pride that I want to be seen as “authentic” or cool instead of just going after God and being with Him. Pride of wanting affirmation or praise for myself instead of praising Him through surrender. But, I choose to surrender. Surrendering is a changing and powerful thing. Let’s do it together.

Surrender is living wholly for Jesus because it is He who lives in us.

Galatians 2:20 // I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 // Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.

This is so crazy to me. My body and thoughts are not my own because it all belongs to Him. My flesh died when I became saved and it now He that lives in me. This may sound cheesy, but don’t we want a beautiful palace for Him to live in us? I want to give Him my every thought and action to serve Him because He deserves all the glory and praise. I also live in faith because He gave Himself for me and He loves me. I live for Him because He died for me to live an abundant and servitude life. I am His, and He is mine. Why do I have such a hard time surrendering when He gave everything to have a relationship with me? That is all He wants. He just wants us to serve Him and to have a pure & holy relationship with Him. I will embark on this journey of giving Him everything in my life and I mean everything. He lives in us and we no longer belong to our flesh, we are His, so we surrender to Him.

Surrendering allows God to do great and mighty things through us.

Proverbs 23:26 // My son, give me your heart and let your eyes delight in my ways. (AHHH! Isn’t this beautiful!?)

Can you imagine what God could do if He had FULL control of our lives? He would show us His mighty works and His power. I want so badly to come to this. I want to let God do whatever without questioning. I want to surrender all of my heart so that He can do what He would like. Imagine how it feels when we surrender some things, but won’t give Him something little and it hinders His ability to work through us because we won’t give Him everything. He can do so much more with our willingness to go after Him full force. Now, like I said before, sometimes I want the glory and affirmation from others. But, really, He deserves it all. And if we surrender ourselves (and our pride) to Him, we will learn to give Him the glory instead of getting it ourselves. There is a quote that states, “Great people don’t do great things. God does great things through surrendered people.” Isn’t that wonderful to think about? How much more of an impact can we have with our surrender to Jesus? You can do great things for Him with giving up yourself to His ways.

What do we need to surrender that is holding us back from a friendship with God?

I automatically have some things that are already coming to my mind that need surrendering. Pride, music, thoughts, lies, and so much more that affect me. I want a friendship with God, but that only happens if I am honest with Him and myself and give Him my everything. What is holding you back? Maybe it is fear or different choices you make. Maybe it is that one thing that you know you need to surrender, but it is so hard. Oh girl, I get you. But, think about what He has done for us and the immense impact He can make through us with our complete surrender. Just surrender it. Lay it down by His feet and watch His wonderful works start.

I hope that this has helped you and encouraged you to give it to Him. These are some tidbits from my mind recently and I felt like I should share. Thank you for listening.

xoxo,

Sar

4 thoughts on “For The Girl Who Struggles With Surrendering

Leave a Reply

